[Sneakers] Jordan XI “72-10”

The Jordan XI has always been near the top of my list of favourite sneakers of all-time and although that list changes yearly, this shoe (regardless of colour) has always done it for me.

The vision shared by designer (living legend) Tinker Hatfield and MJ:

Bring the look of a formal shoe to the basketball court

The concept was amazing, groundbreaking and it was years ahead of it’s time. I was too young to buy my own shoes when the XI made it’s debut in 1996, but when they retro’d in 2000, I was all over it.. Sort of.

I remember thinking to myself, “Whoa. $200 CDN is way too much money for a shoe!”

The Jordan XI was $125 USD / $200 CDN when it first re-released in 2000 and despite  it’s much lower pricing, they still sat on shelves/online for a while. This was before people “camped out” for shoes, before online automated “bots”, it was a simple time when collecting sneakers wasn’t the thing to do.

I ended up buying the “Concord” XI afterwards, but my first Jordan sneaker purchase ever was the “Bred” XI during December 2001. I worked @ Footlocker at the time, so I got a discount on them, too. What a time to be alive!

Fast forward a decade and a half >>>

The “72-10” is released on December 12th, 2015 to commemorate the incredible, record breaking 1995-96 Chicago Bulls team. 72 wins is still an NBA record and although this is about MJ, as a Canadian it is my duty to remind everyone that the Raptors were responsible for one of those 10 losses that year 🙂

Not much has changed with the XI and I think that’s for the better. The major differences are aesthetic: Plastic Jumpman on upper near heel tab, microfibre suede surrounding the “Jumpman” and a very nice premium tumbled leather upper.

Subtle upgrades to a classic shoe, this one is going to be one of the special ones that people talk about years down the line.

Did you get yours?

For product reviews, wear tests and business inquiries: Info@BigPhilly.ca

Bonus:

 

Leave a Reply

